Minnesota Midterm Election Recap
MinnPost photo by James Nord

The Minnesota midterm elections are over and Democrats maintain their national hold on power from Minnesota, according to KSTP.

Governor Mark Dayton won his race tonight by a 52-43% margin over Republican challenger Jeff Johnson, giving him a second term in office. The state of Minnesota has no term limits for governors.

In the US Senate race, Democrat Al Franken won by a 55-41% margin over Republican Mike McFadden. This will be his second term in the US Senate, after winning the 2008 election in a recount.

In the House, Districts 1,4, and 5 have been declared for Democrats Tim Walz, Betty McCollum, and Keith Ellison respectively. Districts 2, 3, and 6 have been declared for the Republicans John Kllne, Erik Paulsen, and Tom Emmer. All of the Districts with the exception of 6 and Tom Emmer were won by incumbents.

Districts 7 and 8 are both being led by Democrats Collin Peterson and Rick Nolan. Both are incumbents as well.